Cliche

 

Bing cherries surprise me every summer

I forget the profound perfection

Of fruit in season

 

October’s stunning blaze

December’s wood-smoke

May’s green intensity

July’s cherries

Returning gifts: new, familiar

Present, home.

 

Seasons changing these two years past

Moments of surprise

Joy, Beauty, Contentment

Gratitude

Fleeting presences which have yet to

Remain

 

In a moment of profound perfection

I bask in the absence of

Grief, Fear, Loneliness

Questions long holding my heart

So tightly

I have forgotten what freedom feels like

 

Until a basket of cherries

Brings me into this moment of

Liberation

Red, sticky, sweet, firm

Returning gifts: new, familiar

Present: home.

 

Time heals all wounds.

Explore posts in the same categories: words

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Cliche”

  1. Anne Says:

    I love this poem, it reminds me of so many things I hold dear……THANKS for sharing!

  2. Sandy Says:

    Wonderfully written..

  3. Eric Says:

    Love it! Nice job. I do love December wood smoke.

  4. gottaluvem Says:

    Simply beautiful.


  5. Beautiful, there is nothing like the simple pleasures in life to help you live in the now.

  6. Sam Goodall Says:

    lovely, darlin’

  7. susan Says:

    Profound yet again. Life is, after all, just a bowl of cherries…Mom


Leave a Reply

